Giant fun from 1977

IMG_0375

So now I’m back in fantasy territory with this post. What I have finished here is probably the oldest miniature I own. It’s a Ral Partha giant from 1977 which is pretty much ancient history when it comes to miniatures. In fact I have also had this chap in my collection for quite some time and now was the time to get him stripped of old enamel paint and reworked. I really love this giant and I’m very satisfied with the result. The only thing left to do really is to revisit the tattoos and lighten the colour to a more pale tone.  I must of course admit that no little inspiration was found in John Blanche’s take on the same miniature but it’s not a straight copy.

IMG_0378

The sculpting on the piece is top-notch and delightfully low-key in a way I love about old miniatures. No grotesque weapons or drama poses –it’s simply a giant dragging his drunken feet along looking for whatever. Brilliant. There is a peculiar slenderness to the sculpting which is of course due to the casting process but it adds a slight weirdness to the giant which is an acquired taste I guess. I love it.

John Blanche's impressive take on the giant. Note his tongue conversion.

John Blanche’s impressive take on the giant. Note his tongue conversion.

 

To give you a sense of scale I added a Citadel half-orc I finished recently.

IMG_0380

IMG_0381

IMG_0385

Any thoughts?

Cheers

Martin

 

6 thoughts on “Giant fun from 1977

  1. Lovely paint jobs on the giant and the half-orc. The matching terrain makes for a very evocative scene. I wouldn’t go too light on the tattoos or they might lose their impact, especially at gaming distance. Blanche’s version is very experimental but not in all cases successful, I prefer your version.

    • Thanks Subedai. Perhaps you are right concerning the tattoos. I’ll have to think it over. They somehow bug me… You probably know how this is. Once your eye has caught something it’s hard to let it go. At least for me it is.

  2. Excellent work on one of my favourite giant models. The base is stunning too. I also think the tattoo looks fine ‘as is’, but if it’s going to annoy you then I say add the highlight!

  3. Thanks to the both of you. I probably can’t help it; the tattoos will be lightened a bit but your points are well taken.

    Cheers
    Martin

Leave a Reply

