D&D miniature poster

IMG_0326

Recently people wrote some blogposts about their old Citadel and Warhammer posters. Great stuff. By chance I came across this promotion poster for Citadel’s Dungeons & Dragons line of miniatures in my copy of White Dwarf no. 68 from 1985. Just take a look at it in all its John Blancheian goodness. It’s soaked in all that makes mining this Oldhammer stuff worthwhile.

IMG_0330

I love details like the classic Blanche-flame tongues on the sleeves of the adventurers, the weird runes reminiscent of Tom Meier’s lizard men, on the armour of the monsters, the red eye of Sauron on the Orc/Goblin’s shield and the inscription “TSR” above the dungeon passage, as if saying – “if you want to go further, TSR is the gateway”. Brilliant!

IMG_0328

If I had a geek room all of my own this poster would certainly find a place on the wall. I don’t though, so this glorious piece of 80’s fantasy artwork will have to remain snugly in the magazine.

IMG_0329

IMG_0327

Cheers

Martin

One thought on “D&D miniature poster

  1. I’ve actually got this very poster too! I got it unexpectedly when I bought a bunch of WD’s a year ago. A very pleasant surprise to find it indeed 🙂

    I might frame it? Dunno yet, but it’s a cracking poster isn’t it!?

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

