Tom Meier’s Troglodytes

IMG_0215

Back in April  I bought Tom Meier’s box of Troglodyte goodness. Sadly the miniatures were in a dire condition and needed some love before they were in a state to be painted. Luckily the good advice of Mr Phreedh worked nicely, although several things snapped off while in the acetone bath. I thus had to do some heavy restoring on the models –pinning and filling gaps with green stuff that is. The keen eye will thus undoubtedly spot some small adjustments on the miniatures making them slightly different from the originals. In order to make the restorations hold I had to change a few things, such as for instance the pole-arm blade on one. Nothing big, just small stuff. I guess that’s the price you pay when getting minis cheaply as a joblot on Ebay.

IMG_0213

Disregarding the prep work I must say that I really enjoy these miniatures. They ooze cold, reptilian deviousness and pulp fantasy. What surprised me was how long it took to paint them. Having just painted Meier’s lizardmen I expected the Trogs to be as fast a paint –not so. Very likely because of their massive bulk; the scales took me forever to paint. But it was fun work and I’m pleased with the result. I’m quite infatuated with the impossible weapons, the runes odd shape of their gear.

IMG_0214

IMG_0211

IMG_0209

IMG_0208

IMG_0206

IMG_0205

Any thoughts?

 

Next up I’ll show you some pygmies I finished.

Cheers

Martin

 

Leave a Reply

