A Feast of Friends

IMG_1851

I have a thing for ghouls. I love the Lovecraftian ghoul mythology and I’ve been collecting different ghoul miniatures for some time now. Next week we’re going to play an Oldhammer scenario entitled In the Hall of the Ghoul King and of course this has given me the opportunity to do something about some of my ghoul miniatures.

IMG_1856

I’ve actually been spending quite some time over the past weeks painting ghouls and what you see here is the first batch. The great Ghoul Tribe from Heresy Miniatures; an absolutely splendid pack of minis which perfectly reeks of splatter horror films and grisly cannibalism. Pure comfort food for a horror buff like me!

The ghouls were, by the way, sculpted by the ghoul master himself – Paul Muller. A sculptor who’ll be featured again over next posts when I show you some of the other ghoulies I’ve been working on. I’m not sure when these ghouls were produced but probably sometime around 2000 but here I may be mistaken.

Usually I’m no big fan of dousing my miniatures in gore but following the lead from the miniatures presented on the Heresy webpage, I couldn’t resist going all the way and soak mine in blood as well. This gave me a chance to actually experiment with painting blood, which in fact was quite nice, but I’ll probably not be doing stuff like this again for some time.

 

Mamma Blessed

Mamma Blessed

 

Brother Froth

Brother Froth

 

Baby Feast

Baby Feast

 

Brother Grub

Brother Grub

 

Brother Lick

Brother Lick

 

Brother Tongue

Brother Tongue

 

Brother Milk

Brother Milk

 

Brother Smile

Brother Smile

 

Brother Kill-Kill

Brother Kill-Kill

 

Any thoughts?

 

Cheers

Martin

5 thoughts on “A Feast of Friends

    • Thanks Daveb. I have to agree. These ghouls really have loads of attitude and really ooze viciousness. Glad you like the burial plot. I’ve ended up making quite a lot of such graveyard scenery over the years.

      Cheers
      Martin

  1. Nice (if that’s the right word for those nasty, creepy abominations) work on the ghouls and graveyard. These figures are on my shopping list now, I’ve been meaning to expand my collection of ghouls so I can have an army based on a ghoul king. They should make for a nice fit with the last generation of Citadel metal ghouls – were those Paul Muller ones?

    • Thanks Subedai. The Heresy ghouls are definitely worth getting hold of. And yes you are right, as you’ll perhaps see in my next post, the last metals ghouls from GW were also modeled by Paul Muller. The look is slightly different but the Heresy and GW ghouls still fit together nicely.

  2. Pingback: Ghoulish Appetites | The Lost and the Damned

Leave a Reply

