Hoot! Hoot! Says the giant owl

IMG_1300

Here’s my latest effort, the weird and wonderful Giant Owl released by Citadel in 1988. I have had my eye on this model for quite a while, but it was only after having seen Harry the Hammer’s painted specimen at this year’s BOYL that I realized that I had to get one myself.  It’s like that with us collectors, the mind works in strange ways.

IMG_1296

Actually I’m not completely sure why I’m so infatuated with this model. Owls are just strange creatures and there’s also something odd about this model. Something spooky, and I guess it’s all in the face of the model. However, you also need to acknowledge the dynamics of the model. Instead of just sculpting a sitting owl, which perhaps world have been the obvious and classic way to do an owl, the sculptor (not sure who made it), depicted the owl just before it’s taking off. Brilliant!

IMG_1295

Once I began to plan the painting of my giant owl I came to think of Celanawe and Lieam’s epic struggle against a fierce, vicious owl in David Petersen’s fine Mouse Guard series. The confrontation takes place during the winter and I was thus inspired to give my owl’s base a snow theme.

of Celanawe and Lieam’s epic struggle against a fierce, vicious owl in David Petersen’s fine Mouse Guard series

Celanawe and Lieam’s epic struggle against a fierce, vicious owl in David Petersen’s fine Mouse Guard series

I’m quite happy with the result. What do you think?

 

IMG_1294

Cheers

Martin

Leave a Reply

